Saturday, March 24, 2012
Continued...
They were both really sweet ... bed time came ... and then there was crying because apparently i cannot be in two places at once, and also it appears I only have one back that can hold one child. this continues to be a problem. probably a good problem, that they want two of me, one for each of them ... but i think there should be a lesson in sharing this week. Sharing people. ha
Thursday, March 22, 2012
Update, Pictures, Oh Hello
My opa's birthday was this week and my dad's birthday is tomorrow. PSYCH! Happy birthdays Dutch forefathers
Here is a day when all three of us were a happy family (the day where I could not get them to stop calling me mama) :
Me on a train. Trains are something I am in quite often.
Got back from a visit in Schiedam this afternoon...Wednesday was probably the most lazy day I have ever lived. Really. Woke up, had breakfast, the weather was beautiful and sunny so Jenny and I went outside and sat on the bank and had coffee. Nany came and took Wim away, Damaris came and had coffee. Damaris left. We stayed outside. Had lunch, on the bank. Sat on the bank...the whollllle day long. I've never sat/layed in the same place for that long during the day time ha. But was really nice, super relaxing. Then had a nice time at Martin & Marion's for a little bit, some good talks with Damaris and Ed that night, and then quite the adventure getting back to Amsterdam (the trains were all messed up to/from A'dam), but I made it in time to get the kids from school.
Aaaand here's just a picture from today. It was warm. It was sunny (duh). There was nice breeze. I got back feeling a bit refreshed because I took a break in Schiedam. I was listening to Van Halen. I was happy.
Here is a day when all three of us were a happy family (the day where I could not get them to stop calling me mama) :
Me on a train. Trains are something I am in quite often.
I've been pretty good at regular jogging. I've finally gotten to the 45 minute point, with no breaks and no walking, so its a solid 45 minutes. Don't know if I've ever been able to do that. And it's been beautiful (beautiful) weather dus somehow it makes it easier. I changed my route so it doesn't get as monotonous ha
On top of the world looking down on creation and the only explanation I can fiiiiiiiiiiiiind (hey this is like, part two of the hoogstollen maybe). In Vlaardingen:
Like I said, pretty great weather huh? Hello Amsterdam
When we have to walk back from school most of the time I carry their stuff in my arms and then a child on my back. But this time it was a little difficult because I also had to carry a voetbal. Then Femke (the little schatje) offered to carry everything. So well there hopped a very happy michiel on my back.
When the weather was just beginning to be nice we decided to go to the beach. Happy Michiel and a happy Ashleyshadow:
Marlies got home early one day so Michiel stayed home and Femke and I had some girl time hunting for mussels. When a disappointed Femke found no mussels she decided to find crab houses. When a disappointed Femke found no crab houses, she was just happy with tiny baby shells. We found many tiny baby shells.
Femke was at a vriendin so Michiel and I went to the park. Never seen such a tiny baby Merry-Go-Round. It looked really lonely.Got back from a visit in Schiedam this afternoon...Wednesday was probably the most lazy day I have ever lived. Really. Woke up, had breakfast, the weather was beautiful and sunny so Jenny and I went outside and sat on the bank and had coffee. Nany came and took Wim away, Damaris came and had coffee. Damaris left. We stayed outside. Had lunch, on the bank. Sat on the bank...the whollllle day long. I've never sat/layed in the same place for that long during the day time ha. But was really nice, super relaxing. Then had a nice time at Martin & Marion's for a little bit, some good talks with Damaris and Ed that night, and then quite the adventure getting back to Amsterdam (the trains were all messed up to/from A'dam), but I made it in time to get the kids from school.
Aaaand here's just a picture from today. It was warm. It was sunny (duh). There was nice breeze. I got back feeling a bit refreshed because I took a break in Schiedam. I was listening to Van Halen. I was happy.
I'm doing well still. It is already almost the end of March, which is like "whoa already" and also "whoa only".
The kids and I have quite bonded. I am learning their different needs in terms of affection and correction (which is most effective for which child). For example, when Femke is throwing a fit, you send her to her room and let her cry (scream) it out and she calms down and then you talk to her with a big hug. Nothing else works. Michiel, you tell him to stop and he stops (what a man). Femke needs lots of reassurance that she is loved and that I won't leave her. Michiel just likes to play rough but he likes to know I am there if he needs his back scratched, shoulders massaged, or just to cuddle. Really is sweet. They definately have their brat moments where I am thinking in my head "What the helllllllllll", but at the end, when they fall asleep in my arms, I forget all that, and just love them for the sweethearts they really are. At the end of the day, I know they love me and they know I love them. It's really all we need in life, to fall asleep knowing we are loved. They call me mama, and for one year - they are my children. I will give them all I have.
Thursday, March 8, 2012
Advies
Today in class we were given a problem (how many times does that happen in life?) and then ask the other people in the class for advice. I apparently was the contact person for dealing with hangovers. Had 3 or 4 people ask me for advice what to do. And then the others asked me what to do because they ate too much. Apparently if you've had too much of something, talk to Ashley. She knows these things.
My problem was I played hockey and broke my ankle, but really wanted to go to a party tonight with my boyfriend. How can that be? My partner's advice: Stay home, sell your ticket to me, I'll go with your boyfriend.
Now that's the luck I get. I help them with their hangovers, and they steal my boyfriend.
Pff. Dikke pech.
My problem was I played hockey and broke my ankle, but really wanted to go to a party tonight with my boyfriend. How can that be? My partner's advice: Stay home, sell your ticket to me, I'll go with your boyfriend.
Now that's the luck I get. I help them with their hangovers, and they steal my boyfriend.
Pff. Dikke pech.
Tuesday, March 6, 2012
Update
Well I'm not sick anymore. It happened over night and became pretty bad but now all I have is a little cough. When I was sick I needed to go to the florist to get something for Michiel's class, but I had no voice (hardly even a whisper)...so I got there all wrapped up in a huge poofy scarf and looking dead and wrote on a peice of paper what i needed....the man felt so bad for me he gave me free flowers!
Here is an example of what the kids like to eat. I dont remember what it is, or how I made it.
Example of a food they do not like, and what happens when they will not eat (i.e., stay at the table forever and ever [23:00]). Zuurkool met aardappels
And because I'm not quite sure where to go from here I'll just jump to last week. I had vacation for the whole week, so I started it off with going to Tonny en Folkert's anniversary celebration - I didnt get there until around 21:00 of so but I heard many reports on what a spectacular party it was even before then. Really was a nice party. But I have no pictures. The next morning Will & Pam drove me to Schiedam and I lived at Jenny & Wim's house the whole week (except weekends. I am with Ed & Damaris on weekends oc). There we did the normal exciting stuff like grocery shopping.
Sunday I went to Haystack Heroes concert - was pretty great. I came with the band (if roadie is a positive term you can call me that. if its not...) so even though all I did was mess with the volume and stand there, I got free beer. I messed with the volume and told people who they were. And refreshed the bands beer sometimes. Was a super great feeling to be involved in a small way haha
Throughout the week we did other stuff like walk on the beach, I watched the Holland/Engeland voetbal game with Mark & his friends, and everyday life stuff...stuff that is great for me to do but not super exciting to report ha. Also went to Schipluiden and walked around there. They have good resting places for weary travelers. Kijk. We are weary travelers.
One night Ed, Maris en I stayed up later than normal but I haven't laughed that much in a long time...it will stay a memory -
Vera made a new song. I memorized it.
Well after much happened (updates get worse the more time between), I am back in Amsterdam, with Michiel finding better ways to get me to say yes to television or iPad....
Among other news, language is going alright. I am in a great class (they seem to be getting better and better) that is more interactive than any of the others. Scary, but good. I have not seen much improvement in talking, but have noticed I have gotten better at understanding. I think. I think it is difficult for myself to say how I'm doing. I guess suffice it to say I'm still working at it and am still quite motivated.
Saturday people came over to celebrate my birthday. Was really nice of them to come - some of them I didnt know very well (met them through Damaris) but they came anyway so that is quite special of them. Was a nice time. Ed reminded me it was my first birthday in Holland - ohhh baby.
And now for all of you that emailed me for more of an update, keep posted. I will. but now I must do a mother load of laundry and ironing. Apparently people wear alot of clothes when they go on vacation.
Here is an example of what the kids like to eat. I dont remember what it is, or how I made it.
Example of a food they do not like, and what happens when they will not eat (i.e., stay at the table forever and ever [23:00]). Zuurkool met aardappels
And because I'm not quite sure where to go from here I'll just jump to last week. I had vacation for the whole week, so I started it off with going to Tonny en Folkert's anniversary celebration - I didnt get there until around 21:00 of so but I heard many reports on what a spectacular party it was even before then. Really was a nice party. But I have no pictures. The next morning Will & Pam drove me to Schiedam and I lived at Jenny & Wim's house the whole week (except weekends. I am with Ed & Damaris on weekends oc). There we did the normal exciting stuff like grocery shopping.
Sunday I went to Haystack Heroes concert - was pretty great. I came with the band (if roadie is a positive term you can call me that. if its not...) so even though all I did was mess with the volume and stand there, I got free beer. I messed with the volume and told people who they were. And refreshed the bands beer sometimes. Was a super great feeling to be involved in a small way haha
Throughout the week we did other stuff like walk on the beach, I watched the Holland/Engeland voetbal game with Mark & his friends, and everyday life stuff...stuff that is great for me to do but not super exciting to report ha. Also went to Schipluiden and walked around there. They have good resting places for weary travelers. Kijk. We are weary travelers.
Vera made a new song. I memorized it.
Well after much happened (updates get worse the more time between), I am back in Amsterdam, with Michiel finding better ways to get me to say yes to television or iPad....
Among other news, language is going alright. I am in a great class (they seem to be getting better and better) that is more interactive than any of the others. Scary, but good. I have not seen much improvement in talking, but have noticed I have gotten better at understanding. I think. I think it is difficult for myself to say how I'm doing. I guess suffice it to say I'm still working at it and am still quite motivated.
Saturday people came over to celebrate my birthday. Was really nice of them to come - some of them I didnt know very well (met them through Damaris) but they came anyway so that is quite special of them. Was a nice time. Ed reminded me it was my first birthday in Holland - ohhh baby.
And now for all of you that emailed me for more of an update, keep posted. I will. but now I must do a mother load of laundry and ironing. Apparently people wear alot of clothes when they go on vacation.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)


















