Thursday, August 23, 2012

Rummel of a Post.

This post is going to be quite a mess. Mostly because there's not much of a theme. 

Table Set up for a neighbor BBQ. Marlies & GJ supplied the food and drinks, I made the salad,  everyone sat around the table and we had a great time talking and laughing. I was happy that the conversation didn't center around me being American (most conversations with strangers happen to go that way), but after getting the basics we just talked about normal things (music, history, politics, films, books,....). Lasted well into the night so much sitting that my bum started to be sore. But I did quite enjoy my time there.
Guess which one I am
For his birthday Michiel got a Sjoelen game. I love it! You slide those discs into the different slots at the end of the board, and each slot is different points. It is quite addicting. I could play it every day (oh wait, I almost do).

Random, but true: I think my socks are too small. The kids thought it hilarious that it says "Nike" with the swoosh on my feet when I take the socks off. 
It was quite hot last week, and in my room I felt it was 5 degrees hotter than anywhere else (I sweat just by breathing), because there were 6 huge spiders directly out my window and I know from experience that they will come inside and I will not sleep a wink. So I kept my windows shut and it was stifling. GertJan came to my rescue and got rid of all the webs and spiders, and even cleaned the air vent (that was so clogged with dust no air could get through). After that it was still quite warm, but so nice to have the wind be able to blow through
Lonely little boy in the pool
Not so lonely anymore
Doesn't quite love to eat Spinach. My michiel is no Popeye.
Went to Utrecht with Marlies. I am now an official resident of Utrecht.  Had a nice time with her, talking  and drinking coffee and even - ate a slice of cheesecake! First time since i've been here, and oh man I've missed it. We had a good time, at least I did, felt good to connect with her and be able to talk about whatever came up. About returning to America, about things here, and such. That is tea in that glass, by the way. How cool and Portlandy is that??
Took Kids to Nemo (Science Center) where we watched a 3D film about the cell. Here these two shadows are Femke and Me
Us 3
Today went to the playground with the kids and played football with michiel
The monkeys with the Sleep TShirts Sara (the previous Au Pair) made for them for their birthdays. What a great idea!
Utrecht update:
GJ and Marlies have now rented a temporary house in Utrecht for me, Marlies and the kids to live in until it's time for us to move to the real house they bought (1 October). GJ stays here in Amsterdam because it's closer to his work. We move there 3 September. This is going to be a crazy time, I've known it and I still know it. But as of now, I am officially a resident of Utrecht. I really like the city, better than Amsterdam. Seems less Touristy, more cozy like. More green where we are living. I'm excited to move there.

I am keeping busy. I also have registered for the Dam tot Dam race here in Amsterdam. I'm excited. It will be my first official run, and I'm proud that it is in Holland. It's only 4 miles, for a few reasons. But oh well, I'm excited to do it, and even if I finish last, at least I'll get a t-shirt out of it.

I really feel apart of them now. I dont think of GJ and Marlies as just my employers, but as family. I will not only miss the kids when I leave, I will also miss them. It was a good feeling at the BBQ to not feel like an outsider "This is our Au Pair and she must sit with us", but more that they wanted me to be there and be an equal. Good feeling.

Whenever I make a mistake, no matter how small (if I use too much shampoo in their hair, or forget to put salt in the food for example), I will sigh and say, "I am the worst baby sitter in the whole world I know!" or, "Papa and Mama will say I am the worst they've ever seen and will throw me back to America tomorrow!" or something like that, and they will both fiercely turn around and say "NEE! Jij bent de liefste au pair in de hele wereld!" (you are the sweetest au pair in the whole world!) or something to that affect. Then I just pinch their cheeks like a good old woman and laugh "No YOU are the sweetest children in the world!" and they respond by the same and normally ends up in tickling. Like those people that say "I love you more" "No I love YOU more!" "No i love YOU more!" and it never ends? Thats like, Femke me and Michiel hehe

Watched the neighbor kids today and will again tomorrow. They are also so sweet and fun to watch. We drew pictures alot today, they are really opening up to me and talking alot and laughing and playing with me. They took my slippers away today so that I couldn't go to America haha (little do they know I have another pair!)

No comments:

Post a Comment